Honors & Awards

Emergency Preparedness Coordinator of 2016

Mike Lahey was awarded Michigan Emergency Management Association's Emergency Preparedness Coordinator of 2016 for his exemplary work in Public Health Preparedness.

MAED Director of the Year

Jim Baker has been named the 2016 MAED (Michigan Association of Equalization Directors) Director of the Year in recognition of continuous work on the L4028.
Sheriff - Michigan

Sheriff's Awards

MADD 2015 "Salute" Certificates 

Deputy Mike Gray - 29 OWI Arrests
Deputy Matt Holliday - 25 Arrests

Citizens Lifesaving Awards

Paul Cova, Daniel Drake, Steven Michael, and Larry Czubak for their actions on September 26, 2015 rescuing Louey Czubak.

Award of Merit

Deputy Brian Potter - For his actions on March 14, 2015

GTSO 2015 Employees of the Year

Corrections Division - Stacy Folgmann
Law Enforcement Division - Sgt. Brandon Brinks

Emergency Coordinator of the Year
Gregg Bird has been named the Michigan Emergency Management Association's Emergency Coordinator of the Year for jurisdictions over 60,000 population!
Northern Michigan Public Health Alliance Receives Director’s Award
The Northern Michigan Public Health Alliance, which includes Grand Traverse County, has received the coveted Michigan Department of Health and Human Services Director’s Award for Excellence in Local Public Health.   The Director’s Award is presented annually to local health departments that contribute to a positive outcome in the health status of community residents, demonstrate a spirit of resource sharing and integration, ensure the effectiveness of processes and programs, demonstrate an innovative public health initiative and are replicable in other communities.
Grand Traverse County 911
NMPHA award
911/Central Dispatch Receives APCO Award
The Michigan Chapter of Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) selected Grand Traverse 911/Central Dispatch to receive a Public Safety Communications Team Award for the extraordinary collaborative effort and teamwork that was demonstrated during the August 2nd weather event by 8 dispatchers. 
  • Dispatch Supervisor Leah Hornacek
  • Dispatch Supervisor Amy Jensen
  • Dispatch Supervisor Patrick Andresen
  • Dispatch Supervisor Jasen Mayersky
  • Dispatcher James Domagalski
  • Dispatcher Tom Ramsey
  • Dispatcher Greg Lenon
  • Dispatcher Joe Miller
Sheriff's Office Receives Special Award
The Michigan Pharmacists Association, along with Senator Wayne Schmidt and State Representative Larry Inman, presented the Grand Traverse Sheriff's Office with a special award for work in substance abuse prevention and efforts with drug take back programs.  Article...

Sheriff - Michigan
Robert A. Cooney
Prosecutor Receives Statewide Recognition
Grand Traverse County Prosecutor Bob Cooney received statewide recognition for his crime prevention efforts benefiting children.

A representative of Fight Crime: Invest in Kids Michigan presented Cooney with the nonprofit organization's 2015 "Crime Fighter Award" during a Prosecuting Attorneys Association of Michigan training conference.

Cooney's participation in meetings and testimony before lawmakers touting the benefits of funding programs designed to help children helped garner him the award.  Article...