CPL Renewal Application

Application for a Concealed Pistol License (CPL) may be obtained in person from your local police, sheriff’s department, County Clerk or on the Michigan State Police website

The applicant must be:
  • At least 21 years of age
  • A Citizen of the United States or an alien lawfully admitted into the United States
  • A resident of the State of Michigan for at least 6 months prior to application submission.
Michigan Firearms Laws
Individuals may view a complete copy of the firearms laws of the State of Michigan on theMichigan Legislature's website.  

Filing a Renewal Application
The completed application and current CPL are required when applying with the County Clerk. Do not sign the application until directed by staff at the County Clerk's Office. 

Application Fee
The application fee is $115.00.  Fee may be paid by cash, check, or money order.

Fingerprinting
If your current CPL was issued after January 1, 2006 and has not been expired for more than one year, you should not have to be fingerprinted for your renewal.  If it was issued prior to that date, you must be fingerprinted again.

Approval Process
The renewal application is submitted to the Michigan State Police for approval or denial.  If the application is approved, the County Clerk's Office will issue the license.  The license is required by law to be mailed to the applicant's mailing address.   If the application is denied, the County Clerk's Office will mail a letter indicating the statutory reason for denial.  

License Expiration Dates
A license issued on/after July 1, 2006, is valid until applicant’s birth date “that falls not less than 4 years or more than 5 years after the license is issued”.

The renewal application process can be started up to 6 months prior to expiration, recommend no later than 2 months prior to expiration. 

Re-Application for CPL 
If a CPL is expired more than one year a renewal applicant is considered a re-application and the applicant must take a pistol safety training course.

The completed application, expired CPL and training certificate (issued less than five years ago) are required when applying with the County Clerk. Do not sign the application until directed by staff at the County Clerk's Office. 

Application Fee
The application fee is $115.00 ($100.00 application fee and $15.00 fingerprint fee). Fee may be paid by cash, check, or money order.

Fingerprinting
All re-applicants must be fingerprinted after application is submitted. Fingerprints are taken by the Grand Traverse County Jail located at 320 Washington Street, Traverse City.  The fingerprinting services are offered to the public and conducted at the County Jail on Wednesdays, from 8:30 to 10:30 a.m. and from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. 

Approval Process
Once applicant is fingerprinted, the fingerprints and application is submitted to the Michigan State Police for approval or denial.  If the application is approved, the County Clerk's Office will issue the license.  The license is required by law to be mailed to the applicant's mailing address.   If the application is denied, the County Clerk's Office will mail a letter indicating the statutory reason for denial.  

License Expiration Dates
A license issued on/after July 1, 2006, is valid until applicant’s birth date “that falls not less than 4 years or more than 5 years after the license is issued”.